USA: Circumcision Decision Male circumcision rates in Utah decline as parents reconsider the procedure

Very good article with some history relevant to the UK …

Spenst Hansen knows better than to take his body for granted.

Born in the midst of his parents’ divorce, the 24-year-old Salt Laker was, of course, a major sticking point in the split. More surprisingly, so was his circumcision status.

“My mother and her side of the family really wanted to get [the procedure] done—so much so, apparently, that they were threatening to get it done behind my father’s back,” Hansen says. “My father was very adamant and very passionate about letting me keep my whole and unaltered body. From what I understand, he actually put out a court-ordered cease and desist for every pediatrician in the state.”

2.jpg

To Hansen’s relief, his father’s legal threat proved remarkably effective. “No doctor would even see me at that point,” he said. “I met the lawyer personally and thanked him.”

Click for full article, USA: Circumcision Decision Male circumcision rates in Utah decline as parents reconsider the procedure

Leave a Reply

